Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2013-08-07 - 10:50 a.m.

One thing I've learned about myself over the years keeping this intermittent dream journal is the role location plays in my subconscious. It's unique, I think. There are certain settings that keep coming up over and over again, but what's really weird is I can't remember very many of them. What does happen is that, in the dream, I realize it's one of those places that I've kept coming back to and subsequently kept forgetting after I wake up. So I have to try and remember not only the dream, but also the dream of not forgetting.

This morning I had such a dream about MAL, a very baffling girl in a poly relationship I've been seeing for a chunk of the summer. The location was a place that felt like Manhattan Beach. It's a rooftop, densely packed with... things. It's kind of hard to describe. Imagine three different genres of roof meeting in one place, like Mary Poppins, pueblo Indians, and southern comfort coming to an apex, leaving this little hidden betweeny space overlooking the ocean. No one would ever know you're there.

And for some reason there's always some place to rest, sit, or sleep, for it is a homey little hidden spot. A chair maybe, but more like a cushion, bedding, blankets, quilts, always nestled into the betweeny rectangle space. Like I have this tiny, tiny little spot hidden above all the ritzy folks with their boats and huge houses on the beach. They want a nice view, but mine is better, and free, and in the open air, and so what if I don't sleep as comfortably.

Last night, I went up to this familiar place, and there was a little tent, like, tiny. MAL wasn't in it, but she was next to it, fetal position. I sank down to look at her sleeping face, but it wasn't sleeping. she was half-awake, and watching me. She smiled, I think. The end.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!