Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-12-18 - 11:43 p.m.

http://www.paulmatthis.com/demo/01_get.mp3
http://www.paulmatthis.com/demo/02_mamasrockinchair.mp3
http://www.paulmatthis.com/demo/03_landslide.mp3

To download:

http://www.paulmatthis.com/demo/paulmatthisdemo.zip

Dear all,

I've always been a singer. In college I tried many things but ended up with a degree in voice and composition, graduating with the scores to nine student films and two dance productions under my belt.

Burnt out and confused, I floundered around Hollywood for a while until I got a job at the Boat Studio in Silverlake, owned by the Dust Brothers. My last week there we recorded the Sex Pistols for the upcoming Guitar Hero 3, and I got to know Johnny Rotten. He gave me two amazing mix CDs and said, "All good music is folky, mate!"

That made sense to me, so I listened to all the folk and Americana I could until about six months ago when I wrote "Get" after a long phone conversation with a good friend. I created the music for it in Reason and Ableton Live. When it was done I scoured Santa Monica for instrumentalists who needed songs. I wrote and sang "Mama's Rockin' Chair" for a jazz guitarist coworker and "Landslide" for an industrial rock acquaintance.

I write more effective songs when collaborating, but I'm still searching for a like-minded musician who can produce forward-thinking, energetic electronic music to go with my singing. Los Angeles and the rest of the world has proved time and again that people not only dig this type of music but crave it. Look at Gnarls Barkley, the Postal Service, Jamie Lidell, even Kanye West! Look at Muse and the Gorillaz. Ratatat performs with simply a guitar and an all electronic band, and their fan base borders on the fanatic.

What does this music have in common? It's all, as Johnny Rotten would say, folky. Electric, loud and futuristic, but still at its core folky. This is the music I'm trying to make.

So here's a call to find someone, just one person, who can help me put this type of music together. Please send this demo to anyone you know who feels the way I do about music or might know someone who does.

Boom,
Paul Matthis

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!